Generally, injury victims have a lot of legal questions that need to be answered after a car accident. This is because most car owners in Florida do not have a full understanding of their insurance coverage and oftentimes falsely believe they are protected if they are involved in a car accident. In this blog post, our goal is to address some of the most common questions that come up after an accident including whether you should file a personal injury protection claim, should the other driver’s insurance cover your damages and if so, how much, will your insurance rates go up after the accident, and more. If you want to discuss the specific facts of your car accident case with a skilled car accident lawyer, we can provide a free consultation!
Filing a Personal Injury Protection Claim Against Your Own Insurance Company Due to the fact that Florida is a no-fault jurisdiction. As such, most drivers must make a claim with their own insurance company after an accident to cover medical expenses related to any injury. Of course, this doesn’t cover all medical expenses. In fact, only about 80% of your medical expenses up to $10,000 are covered by personal injury protection coverage. Remember, in order to be eligible to file a PIP claim, the injured person must seek medical treatment within 14 days after the date on which the car accident occurred. Failure to do so may result in a claim being denied without receiving any compensation.
Will the Other Driver’s Insurance Policy Cover My Medical Expenses? Florida requires all drivers to carry $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage coverage. Pursuant to Florida’s no-fault auto insurance system, you’re supposed to try and get compensated from your own insurance company before going after the opposing side. However, when drivers purchase the minimum insurance coverage, it often does not cover serious and catastrophic injuries. As a result, it is not uncommon to have to go through the court system and sue the responsible driver directly to obtain compensation. This allows a car accident victim to obtain full compensation for medical expenses and lost income.
Will My Insurance Rates Go Up After a Crash?
One of the issues that stirs up a lot of concern for most drivers in Florida is the question of whether their insurance rates will rise after reporting an accident to their insurance company. Once a claim is made with an insurance company, the insurance company will see you as a potential risk and there’s really nothing that can be done about that. You will be happy to hear that in the state of Florida, your insurance company cannot simply increase your rates unless you are substantially at fault for an accident. Sadly, the laws in Florida do not specifically define what substantially at fault means. In most instances, insurance companies will make that decision based on the circumstances of your accident.
Contact Our Florida Accident Attorneys Today
Were you recently injured in a car accident? If you happen to find yourself in this situation, you probably have a lot of questions regarding insurance coverage, the insurance claims process, and what you should be doing in the days, weeks, and months after an accident. At Suarez & Montero, we have answers to all your legal questions. We can also help you obtain compensation for your injuries after a car accident. Our attorneys are ready to provide proven legal representation and stand ready to protect your rights. We are available 24/7 to give you a free, no risk case consultation! At our firm, our policy is that if you don’t recover compensation, you won’t pay any fees for our services. Not to mention, we also provide free case consultations where we assess the circumstances surrounding your case and give you an objective overview of what steps you can take going forward if you decide to act against the party responsible for your injuries. For over 19 years, we have delivered quality legal representation for people who, through no fault of their own, have been injured in all types of accidents and incidents. We are available 24/7 to give you a free, no risk case consultation.
We serve clients throughout Florida including those in the following areas:
Miami-Dade: Aventura, Coral Gables, Doral, Fontainebleau, Hialeah, Homestead, Kendall, Miami, Miami Beach, Miami Lakes, North Miami, Tamiami, and Westchester.
Broward: Fort Lauderdale, Hallandale Beach, Hollywood, Pembroke Pines, and Weston; and Palm Beach County including Boca Raton, Lake Worth, and West Palm Beach.