Miami Teenage Car Accident Attorney

Teen drivers often lack the experience necessary to operate safely on our busy streets and highways. The victims in these types of accidents are often eligible for monetary compensation for their injuries under Florida law. You may be eligible for damages covering medical expenses, future medical care, pain and suffering, lost wages, or loss of enjoyment of life.

An experienced car accident lawyer can help guide you through the claims process and offer expert insight on how to proceed in every aspect of your claim. Hiring a personal injury lawyer is a very important decision. Your lawyer will represent your interests in settlement negotiations with the at-fault party’s insurance company and may have to represent you in court should you and your attorney decide that filing a personal injury lawsuit is in your best interest. You should make sure that your attorney is someone you trust and feel comfortable working with.

Our attorneys are ready to provide proven legal representation in pursuing your claim and stand ready to protect your rights. We are available 24/7 to give you a free, no risk case consultation.

Common Causes of Teen Driving Accidents

Teens are one of the highest-risk groups of drivers on the road. According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), car accidents are the leading cause of death for teens nationwide. Drivers ages 16 to 19 are almost three times as likely to be involved in car accidents as are drivers 20 and older.

In Florida, teens can start driving with a learner’s permit at 15 and unsupervised at the age of 16, placing a large number of risky drivers on our roads. Some of the more common causes of teen car accidents include:

  • Consumption of alcohol or other drugs
  • Inexperienced teen drivers
  • Aggressive driving, including tailgating, speeding, improper passing, and failing to yield
  • Distracted driving, such as talking or texting on a cellphone, eating, grooming, or talking to other passengers
  • Driver fatigue
  • Poor Weather conditions

Florida Teen Driving Restrictions and License Law

Requirements for Teens Obtaining a Florida Learner’s License:

  • Must be at least 15 years old
  • If under 18 years old, must have a signed/notarized Parental Consent Form(step-parents may not sign unless they have legally adopted the minor child)
  • Proof of Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course completion
  • Pass a vision and hearing test – testing is conducted in a service center
  • Pass Class E Knowledge Exam which consists of 50 multiple-choice questions about traffic laws and traffic signs. The passing score is 80 percent or 40 out of 50 questions
  • Provide documents needed to establish proof of identity, proof of social security number and proof of residential address

Requirements for Teens Obtaining a Florida Driver License:

  • Must be at least 16 years old
  • Must hold learner’s license for at least one year (12 months) OR reach age 18, whichever comes first
  • A parent, legal guardian or responsible adult over 21 years old must complete the Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form, certifying the driver has 50 hours of driving experience, of which 10 hours must be at night.
  • NO moving violation convictions for one year from learner’s license date of issuance (OR may have one moving violation as long as adjudication was withheld)
  • Must pass Class E Driving Skills Test. The vehicle used for the driving test must have a valid registration, proof of insurance and pass a basic vehicle inspection that is conducted by the driver license examiner to determine that it is safe for a driving test
  • Provide documents needed to establish proof of identity, proof of Social Security number and proof of residential address if you have not previously provided these documents.

Liability in a Teen Driving Accidents

All drivers owe a duty to other motorists to act as a reasonable and prudent person would behave in similar circumstances. Teen drivers may breach this duty, for example, by speeding or failing to assess road dangers properly.

Additionally, a teen driver could be found negligent per se, which means as a matter of law. In these instances, an individual has violated a statute that is intended to protect a certain group of people from a certain type of harm. Drunk driving laws are designed to protect other motorists on the road. If an underage driver causes an accident while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, an injured person could file a claim based on the negligence per se.

However, he or she still would need to show the causation and damages elements, since this rule substitutes only for the elements of duty and breach.

Seeking Compensation after a Teen Driver Accident

If you were injured due to another person’s negligent actions, you may be able to file a personal injury lawsuit to recover compensation for damages you suffered from your injuries. The types of damages that are available in a personal injury claim can vary depending on the type of case, the injury to the victim, and the laws of the state. Generally speaking, there are two kinds of damages: actual or compensatory damages and punitive damages.

In Florida, a plaintiff in a personal injury case may obtain actual (compensatory) damages. Compensatory damages are awarded for the loss, injury to a person caused by the negligence of another. The objective of compensatory damages is to make the injured party whole to the extent that it is possible to measure an injury in terms of money. Damages in negligence actions are measured by comparing the condition the plaintiff would have been in had the defendants not been negligent with plaintiff’s impaired condition as a result of the negligence.

Damages Available in a Teen Driver Car Accident Cases

Aside from the emotional turmoil and stress, you could also be dealing with the complication of physical injuries, damages to property (e.g. car or home), and the insurance company’s failure to accept responsibility. Our injury attorneys at Suarez & Montero can help you in all of these situations by helping you ensure that you receive the proper treatment that you deserve. Among the damages that you may seek compensation for, include, but are not limited to:

  • Current and future medical expenses
  • Lost wages
  • Loss of future earning capacity
  • Property damage
  • Pain and suffering
  • Loss of intimacy and support

Contact Our Experienced Miami Teen Driver Accident Lawyers

If you have additional questions about a teen accident case, you should contact an experienced Miami teen car accident attorney today! The attorneys at Suarez & Montero protect your rights, understand how the car accident claims process works, and know how to present a strong personal injury claim. The injury attorneys at Suarez & Montero encourage you to reach out so that we can explain more about the different ways that our law firm and attorneys can provide legal help and guidance after an auto accident.

Make an appointment with us at one of our many locations. Remember, we work on a contingency basis so you will owe us nothing If we are unable to obtain successful results for your case. The attorneys at Suarez & Montero can meet with you to discuss further. always available to talk with you and answer your questions. Our skillful attorneys are genuinely committed to our clients. We will fight to make sure that you get the maximum amount of compensation owed to you. Let us help you get the medical care you need and fight to make sure you are compensated for your injuries! Our attorneys are ready to provide proven legal representation in pursuing your claim and stand ready to protect your rights.

We are available 24/7 to give you a free, no risk case consultation.

Schedule a FREE Consultation! Call 305-631-1911

We serve clients throughout Florida including those in the following areas:

Miami-Dade: Aventura, Coral Gables, Doral, Fontainebleau, Hialeah, Homestead, Kendall, Miami, Miami Beach, Miami Lakes, North Miami, Tamiami, and Westchester.

Broward: Fort Lauderdale, Hallandale Beach, Hollywood, Pembroke Pines, and Weston; and Palm Beach County including Boca Raton, Lake Worth, and West Palm Beach.

Frequently Asked Questions

According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, young drivers ages 15 to 20 were involved in 63,591 accidents in the most recent year of traffic data. That number represents 16 percent of all traffic accidents in Florida that year. Young drivers were involved in 15,471 crashes involving injuries.

To establish negligence in Florida, a plaintiff must show that

(1) the defendant owed a duty to the plaintiff;
(2) the defendant breached the duty;
(3) the breach was the actual and proximate cause of the plaintiff’s injuries; and
(4) as a result the plaintiff suffered damages. A duty is the obligation to protect another against unreasonable risk of injury. A duty is breached when the defendant fails to meet such obligation.

Yes, under Florida’s Dram Shop Act, a person who willfully and unlawfully sells or furnishes alcoholic beverages to a person who is not of lawful drinking age may be liable for injury or damage caused by or resulting from the intoxication of such minor. A bar has a legal duty to refrain from serving alcoholic beverages to minors, and a breach of that duty may subject the bar to liability for injuries caused by an intoxicated minor.